Skip to content


How to remove an e-mail from auto-type in Gmail

Before I finally decided to pay for my e-mail address, I wasn’t able to properly send e-mails from my @mydomain.com address, and people would see my real @yahoo.com, @hotmail.com or @gmail.com (yes, I know…) and often use the latter to write to me instead of the proper one. This lead to a classic issue when I changed provider: people wouldn’t update their address book quite promptly, even when notified about it a few times and promised it wouldn’t happen again (now that I totally insist on using my @mydomain.com, it really won’t, and actually my first @mydomain.com e-mail has been active and stable for about 9 years now).

Among those, a few kept writing to outdated (and sometimes totally abandoned) e-mails for ages, despite an incredible amount of reminders to update me in their contacts. And then it struck me: the common point between all those people was… they are all @gmail.com. As a former Gmail user myself, I get the picture now: Gmail has this very handy feature to save all the e-mail addresses you ever send an e-mail to, and serve them back to you every time you write an e-mail ever after. Of course, most other e-mail providers have caught up with this nowadays. But Gmail remains unique (I think) in the way it treats those e-mails: it saves them as invisible contacts, whereas as far as I know, other providers save them as visible (although quite empty) contacts.

Well, anyway, now that you know that auto-type e-mails are stored as invisible contacts, I guess you can find out the steps to remove them: search and destroy 😉
Here is the more detailed guide, in 3 picture steps as I find Gmail’s UI quite user-unfriendly nowadays…

1) Go to your contacts
Gmail menu: contacts

2) Use the search box to search for the e-mail address
Search box from contact section is the same as from e-mail section, but will search for contacts rather than e-mails

3) Open the invisible contact, and use the “more” drop-down menu to delete it (“Delete contact”)
Select the More menu in the contact card, and delete

Well, that’s it. Congratulations, you won’t accidentally write to my 5 years-long abandoned e-mail anymore :-p
(…but maybe you’ll do it on purpose? ^^)

Posted in Google.


0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.



Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

Please solve the CAPTCHA below in order to fight spamWordPress CAPTCHA